My licenses are tied up on old computers

Discuss features and report problems with BlackInk
sherlock
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06 Jul 2015, 18:06

My licenses are tied up on old computers

Postby sherlock » 09 Jun 2020, 00:20

I've run out of installs for BlackInk. I had to retire my old laptop today, and uninstalling didn't return any seats. Could I bother someone to reset my seats? Neither are actually in use.

Thanks! :D

User avatar
u2bleank
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: 11 Jun 2012, 10:41

Re: My licenses are tied up on old computers

Postby u2bleank » 09 Jun 2020, 08:45

Hi sherlock,

It should works now, try again ;)

sherlock
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06 Jul 2015, 18:06

Re: My licenses are tied up on old computers

Postby sherlock » 10 Jun 2020, 04:59

You're awesome! Thanks! :up:

sherlock
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06 Jul 2015, 18:06

Re: My licenses are tied up on old computers

Postby sherlock » 13 Jun 2020, 13:02

Now I'm having a new problem. When I start up BlackInk, it typically starts in trial mode. The help menu has the 'buy' entry, but no 'activate' menu. I renamed the registry key with my licensing info to see if I could re-activate to fix the problem (and consumed another license in the process >.< ). The new activation key matched the old one exactly (aside from the timestamp) so that didn't seem to help.

I can work around the problem by starting up a bunch of copies of black ink and closing every one but one that didn't start in trial mode, but that's a bit irritating. Even when not in trial mode, the help menu still has the 'buy' entry in it.

This seems a little weird.


Return to Technical support

cron